Tips for Following Along with the Stream

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Tips for Following Along with the Stream

Post by Meina on Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:02 pm

Please Note: I am not a professional artist. I am a hobbyist and I'm not out to teach anyone to draw. When you watch the streams keep in mind I'll be mainly focusing on the actual design process and while I'm happy to give tips where I can I'm not going to be able to advise on too much drawing instruction.

That being said don't feel forced to draw in the same style as me or even using the same exact steps as me. Use the style and methods that work for you. It's great if you can learn something from me but what counts is making the process and resulting character your own.

Resources

All characters I make will have their own separate file in my Charahub account which can be found here:

Meina's Charahub

Any resources available for the design session will go into that file so you can download it. The final character I produce will go into the file after the stream is over.

Software

I will be using for the most part Manga Studio EX 5 (or Clip Studio Paint), Iclone Character Creator and Adobe Photoshop. I may also use ArtRage or OpenCanvas in the future and possibly Vector Magic if line art needs cleaned up.

If you don't have a huge budget try a free alternative like Gimp or Sumopaint.

The important thing is to use a program that works best for you but you should also experiment a little because there are a ton of great programs available for digital art.You can even use different programs for different steps of the creation process. Some other good programs are Sketchbook Pro,ArtFlow,Paint Tool Sai or Corel Painter.

Photo References